"Partners" is a type of gameplay mechanic in Super Smash Bros. Battle Royale.
On the character select screen, there is a small, black box to the right of the Player box (to the right of P1, P2, P3, and P4). By pressing this button, you will be able to select a second character. This character will be held in reserve during the match. By shielding and pressing the Special Button, the reserved character shall be switched in. While the character who is not fighting won't recover damage, they won't have to fight. The process takes two and a half seconds, so if players are sharing a controller, they can switch out without having to worry about getting their controller in time. If each player is using a different controller, then this can only be done with 2 teams instead of 4.
- During Time Matches, both players' K.O. total and amount of times K.O.'d are shared.
- During Stock Matches, stocks are shared.
- During Coin Matches, the coin total is split.
Differences from Assists
See also: Assists
Differences from Assist Trophies
See also: Assist Trophies